Call for Award Nominations for the 2017 Rocky Mountain Council for Latin American Studies Conference, Salt Lake City, UT, April 5-8th.

Nominations are now open for the following awards given by the Rocky Mountain Council for Latin American Studies. Please have all nomination materials sent to each committee member by the deadlines listed in each award. The following information can also be found under each award’s individual page.

Book Awards:
Bandelier/Lavrin Book Award in Colonial Latin America: Named to honor two female pioneers in the history of the Spanish American empire, the first working in the early days of the field, the second who forged a path in colonial history and served as a model for historians in the profession, this prize is awarded to the outstanding book published by a member of the association in the previous calendar year on a colonial Latin American subject. Deadline: February 6, 2017

Committee Members:
Frances Ramos, University of South Florida
Mailing Address:
Department of History
4202 E Fowler Ave SOC 107
Tampa, FL 33620-8100

Alcira Dueñas, The Ohio State University
Mailing Address:
583 Mawyer Drive
Columbus, OH 43085

Martha Few
Department of History, Penn State University
108 Weaver Building
University Park, PA 16802
Thomas McGann Book Award in Modern Latin America: Originally given to the outstanding presentation at the annual RMCLAS meeting, this prize is awarded to the outstanding book published by a member of the association in the previous calendar year (2016) on the subject of Latin America since independence. Deadline: February 6, 2017

William Beezley, University of Arizona
Mailing Address: 9121 Tanque Verde, #105,
PMB 317
Tucson, AZ 85749

Ken Ward
Maury A. Bromsen Curator of Latin American Books
Mailing Address: John Carter Brown Library | Box 1894 | Providence, RI 02912

Elaine Carey
St. John’s University
8000 Utopia Pkwy
Queens, NY 11439

The Judy Ewell Award for the best publication (book or article) on women’s history or written by a woman, and published in 2016, that began as a RMCLAS presentation. Please send articles via email or books to the regular mail addresses below by February 15, 2017.

Susan Deeds, Northern Arizona University
Mailing Address:
5326 E. Holmes, Tucson, AZ 85711

Amanda López, Saint Xavier University
Mailing Address:
Department of History and Political Science
Saint Xavier University
3700 W. 103rd St.
Chicago, IL 60655

Erika Hosselkus
Mailing Address:
University of Notre Dame
102 Hesburgh Library
Notre Dame, IN 46556

Best Graduate Student Paper Award (in honor of Adrian Bantjes). $200.00 award. Deadline: February 15th, 2017

Prize Committee:
Head: Anna Alexander
Contact Information:
Department of History
California State University, East Bay

Michael Kirkpatrick
Memorial University of Newfoundland
St. John’s, NL A1C 5S7
Catherine Tracy Goode
Independent Scholar

RMCLAS Article Award: The RMCLAS Award for the most outstanding article in a journal or chapter in an edited book published in the preceding year. Nominees must have been members in the preceding two years, except in the case of a graduate student who joined RMCLAS in her/his final year of study and then published the article the following year. Deadline February 6, 2017.

Committee Members:
James Garza, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Associate Professor of History and Ethnic Studies and History

Christina Bueno
Associate Professor of History and Latino/Latin American Studies
Northeastern Illinois University
5500 N. St. Louis Ave. Chicago, IL 60625

Kevin Gosner, University of Arizona
Associate Professor and Department Head
Service and Teaching Awards
The Edwin Lieuwen Award for outstanding teaching or the promotion of outstanding teaching of Latin American Studies. The prize may go to either an outstanding teacher or someone who has made excellent teaching possible with an outstanding text or teaching materials or video (submitted via email in pdf format). Deadline: 4 January 2017

Dr. Sarah Cline, Research Professor
Department of History
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA
93106-9410 USA

Christoph Rosenmüller
Middle Tennessee State University/ Max-Planck-Institut für europäische Rechtsgeschichte
Hansaallee 41
60323 Frankfurt am Main

Jonathan Truitt
Department of History
Central Michigan University

Nason-Sadler Service Award: For outstanding service to the Latin American Studies profession in general and RMCLAS in particular. Please submit via email in pdf format. Deadline: February 25th, 2017.

Susan Kellogg
Professor of History and Director, Undergraduate Studies and Latin American Studies Program
Department of History
3553 Cullen Blvd.
524 Agnes Arnold Hall
Houston, TX 77204-3003

Dana Velasco Murillo
History Department
University of California, San Diego

Ryan Kashanipour
Department of History
Northern Arizona University

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s