Bandelier/Lavrin Award

Bandelier/Lavrin Book Prize in Colonial Latin American History

Named to honor two pioneers in the history of the Spanish American empire, the first working in the early days of the field, the second who forged a path in colonial history and served as a model for female historians in the profession, this prize is awarded to the outstanding book published by a member of the association in the previous calendar year on the subject of colonial Latin American history. Deadline: February 23, 2018.

Prize Committee:

Ann Twinam
116 Paragon Court
Lakeway, Texas, 78734

Robert C. Schwaller
Dept. of History
University of Kansas
3650 Wescoe Hall
1445 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045

Michelle McKinley
Bernard B. Kliks Professor of Law
Director, Center for the Study of Women in Society
1221 University of Oregon—306C Knight Law Center
Eugene OR 97401-1221

Previous Award Winners:

2016 Ann Twinam, University of Texas at Austin

Purchasing Whiteness: Pardos, Mulattos, and the Quest for Social Mobility in the Spanish Indies


Honorable Mention: Martha Few, University of Arizona

For All of Humanity: Mesoamerican and Colonial Medicine in Enlightenment Guatemala