Judy Ewell Award

Judy Ewell Award for Best Publication on Women’s History (formerly Ligia Parra Jahn Award)

The Judy Ewell Award for the best publication (book or article) on women’s history or written by a woman, and published in 2019, that began as a RMCLAS presentation. Please send articles in pdf form via email or books to the physical addresses listed below. Deadline: February 14, 2020.

Christina Bueno (Chair)
Northeastern Illinois University
2737 Princeton Ave
Evanston, Illinois 60201

Patricia Harms
Brandon University
270-18th Street
Brandon, MB R7A 5Y2

Cristophe Rosenmuller
Department of History, Box 23
Middle Tennessee State University
1301 E. Main Street
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, 37132

Previous Award Winners:

2019 Rachel Corr, Florida Atlantic University, Interwoven: Andean Lives in Colonial Ecuador’s Textile Economy, University of Arizona Press



2016 Ann Twinam, University of Texas at Austin
Purchasing Whiteness: Pardos, Mulattos, and the Quest for Social Mobility in the Spanish Indies

2015 Michelle McKinley, University of Oregon

“Illicit Intimacies: Virtuous Concubinage in Colonial Lima,” Journal of Family History 39:3 (July 2014), 204-221.


2014 Dana Velasco Murillo, University of California San Diego
“Laboring Above Ground:  Indigenous Women in New Spain’s Silver-Mining District, Zacatecas, Mexico, 1620-1770,” The Hispanic American Historical Review 93:1 (2013), 3-32.


2013 Ageeth Sluis, Butler University
“Projecting Pornography and Mapping Modernity in Mexico City,” Journal of Urban History, May 2012.


2012 Yanna Yannakakis, Emory University
“Allies or Servants?  The Journey of Indian Conquistadors in the Lienzo of Analco,” Ethnohistory 58:4 (Fall 2011), 653-682.


2011 Christina Bueno, Northeastern Illinois University
“Forjando Patrimonio: The Making of Archaeological Patrimony in Porfirian Mexico,”  The Hispanic American Historical Review 90, no. 2 (May 2010): 215-246.


2008 Karen Graubart, University of Notre Dame
With Our Labor and Sweat: Indigenous Women and the Formation of Colonial Society in Peru, 1550-1700 (Stanford University Press, 2007).