Michael C. Meyer Award

Michael C. Meyer for Best Book on Mexican History in a Five-Year Period

This prize is awarded to the outstanding book published by a member of the association in the previous 5 calendar years on the subject of Mexican history. Deadline: February 15, 2023.

Steven Bunker, chair
Dept. Of History
University of Alabama
Box 870212
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487

Dana Velasco Murillo
Dana Velasco Murillo, 0921
UC San Diego, Department of History
Arts and Humanities Building
9500 Gilman Drive, #0104
La Jolla, CA 92093-0104

Robert Weis
History Dept
University of Northern Colorado
501 20th St. Campus Box 116
Greeley, CO 80639

Previous Award Winners

2018 Christina M. Bueno, Northeastern Illinois University

The Pursuit of Ruins: Archaeology, History, and the Making of Modern Mexico

2013 Frances L. Ramos, University of Southern Florida

Identity, Ritual, and Power in Colonial Puebla. (University of Arizona Press, 2012)

Special Commendation: William H. Beezley, University of Arizona

A Companion to Mexican History and Culture. (Wiley-Blackwell, 2011)

2009 John Mason Hart, University of Houston

Empire and Revolution: The Americans in Mexico Since the Civil War. (University of California Press, 2002)

2005 Friedrich E. Schuler, Portland State University

Mexico between Hitler and Roosevelt: Mexican Foreign Relations in the Age of Lázaro Cárdenas, 1934-1940. (UNM Press, 1998)